WONS 2021 16th Wireless On-demand Network systems and Services Conference 9-11th March 2021, Virtual Conference
IEEE Authors Registration Fees: 180€ | Free for PhD Students (non-authors)

Program at a glance


  Tue, March 9th Wed, March 10th Thu, March 11th
16:00 - 16:10 (CET)
07:00 - 07:10 (PST)
00:00+1 - 00:10+1 (JST)
Conference Opening & Welcome S3: WiFi and IoT: Novel Ideas S6: Measurement and Localization
16:10 - 17:00 (CET)
07:10 - 08:00 (PST)
00:10+1 - 01:00+1 (JST)
S1: Channel/PHY Layer
Modeling and Analysis
17:00 - 17:10 (CET)
08:00 - 08:10 (PST)
01:00+1 - 01:10+1 (JST)
S4: Learning in Wireless Networking Closing Keynote
17:10 - 18:00 (CET)
08:10 - 09:00 (PST)
01:10+1 - 02:00+1 (JST)
S2: V2X: Connected Vehicles
18:00 - 18:10 (CET)
09:00 - 09:10 (PST)
02:00+1 - 02:10+1 (JST)
S5: Special Session on Smartphone Apps for Contact Tracing - Experiences with COVID-19 Tracing Apps S7: Novel Applications
and Network Optimization
18:10 - 19:10 (CET)
09:10 - 10:10 (PST)
02:10+1 - 03:10+1 (JST)
Opening Keynote
19:10 - 19:20 (CET)
10:10 - 10:20 (PST)
03:10+1 - 03:20+1 (JST)
GatherTown Hangout
19:20 - 19:30 (CET)
10:20 - 10:30 (PST)
03:20+1 - 03:30+1 (JST)
Conference Closing & Best Paper Award Announcement
19:30 - 20:00 (CET)
10:30 - 11:00 (PST)
03:30+1 - 04:00+1 (JST)
GatherTown Hangout GatherTown Hangout


Detailed Program


Tuesday, March 9th

16:00 - 16:10 (CET)Conference Opening & Welcome

16.10 - 17.10 (CET)S1: Channel/PHY Layer Modeling and Analysis

Chair: Renato Lo Cigno (University of Brescia, Italy)

16:10 - mmWave on the Road: Investigating the Weather Impact on 60 GHz V2X Communication Channels

Sigrid Dimce, Muhammad Sohaib Amjad and Falko Dressler

16:30 - Be aware of the capture effect: a measure of its contribution to BLE advertisements reception

Laudin Molina, Élisa Blanchard, Christophe Couturier and Jean-Marie Bonnin

16:50 - Outage Probability Analysis of UAV Assisted Mobile Communications in THz Channel

Sara Farrag, Engy Aly Maher, Ahmed E. El-Mahdy and Falko Dressler

17.10 - 18.10 (CET)S2: V2X: Connected Vehicles

Chair: Falko Dressler (TU Berlin, Germany)

17:10 - Impact of the MEC Location in Transport Networks on the Capacity of 5G to Support V2X Services

Baldomero Coll-Perales, Maria del Carmen Lucas-Estañ, Chang-Heng Wang, Javier Gozalvez, Takayuki Shimizu,
Sergei Avedisov, Miguel Sepulcre, Takamasa Higuchi, Bin Cheng, Akihiko Yamamuro and Onur Altintas

17:30 - GRETEL: Graph-based Street Coverage Calculation for Vehicle-to-Infrastructure Communication

Michael Niebisch, Reinhard German and Anatoli Djanatliev

17:50 - A Critical Assessment of CV2X Resource Allocation Scheme for Platooning Applications

Michele Segata, Piermaria Arvani and Renato Lo Cigno

18:10 - 19:10 (CET)Opening Keynote

Chair: Michele Segata (Free University of Bolzano, Italy)

The Road to Practical and Scalable Millimeter-Wave Networks (details)

Prof. Joerg Widmer, IMDEA Networks, Spain

19:10 - 20:00 (CET)GatherTown Hangout

Wednesday, March 10th

16:00 - 17:00 (CET)S3: WiFi and IoT: Novel Ideas

Chair: Francesco Gringoli (CNIT/University of Brescia, Italy)

16:00 - Use of a Weighted Conflict Graph in the Channel Selection Operation for Wi-Fi Networks

Lafdal Abdelwedoud, Anthony Busson and Isabelle Guérin Lassous

16:15 - On Phase Offsets of 802.11ac Commodity WiFi

Anatolij Zubow, Piotr Gawłowicz and Falko Dressler

16:30 - Impact of Bushfire Dynamics on the Performance of MANETs

Ameer Arsalaan, Hung Xuan Nguyen and Mah-Rukh Fidar

16:45 - A Simple Decentralized Timeslot Synchronization Algorithm for Large-Scale Wireless IoT Networks

Gurusanthosh Pabbisetty and Hiroki Mori

17:00 - 18:00 (CET)S4: Learning in Wireless Networking

Chair: Carla Fabiana Chiasserini (Politecnico di Torino, Italy)

17:00 - Anticipating Mobile Radio Networks Key Performance Indicators with Transfer Learning

Claudia Parera, Alessandro E. C. Redondi, Matteo Cesana, Qi Liao and Ilaria Malanchini

17:20 - An RL Approach to Radio Resource Management in Heterogeneous Virtual RANs

Sharda Tripathi, Corrado Puligheddu and Carla Fabiana Chiasserini

17:40 - Learning to Fairly Classify the Quality of Wireless Links

Gregor Cerar, Halil Yetgin, Mihael Mohorcic and Carolina Fortuna

18:00 - 19:30 (CET)S5: Special Session on Smartphone Apps for Contact Tracing - Experiences with COVID-19 Tracing Apps

Chair: Frank Kargl (Ulm University, Germany)

18:00 - Digital Contact Tracing Apps and Digital Epidemiology

Marcel Salathé, EPFL

18:20 - Behind the Scenes of the German "Corona Warn App"

Thomas Klingbeil, SAP

18:40 - Privacy of COVID-19 Contact Tracing Apps Worldwide

Zhiqiang Lin, Ohio State University

19:00 - Panel Discussion

Moderated by Frank Kargl

19:30 - 20:00 (CET)GatherTown Hangout

Thursday, March 11th

16:00 - 17:00 (CET)S6: Measurement and Localization

Chair: Anatolij Zubow (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)

16:00 - Non Intrusive Wi-Fi CSI Obfuscation Against Active Localization Attacks

Marco Cominelli, Francesco Gringoli, Renato Lo Cigno

16:20 - Cooperative Localization for the Internet of Things

Marco Marinho, Alexey Vinel, Edison Pignaton de Freitas and Stephanie Alvarez Fernandez

16:40 - WiFiMon: Combining Crowdsourced and Probe Measurements for Wi-Fi Performance Evaluation

Nikos Kostopoulos, Sokol Gjeçi, Kurt Baumann, Pavle V Vuletić, Kostas Stamos

17:00 - 18:00 (CET)Closing Keynote

Chair: Uichin Lee (KAIST, Korea (South))

Knowledge on the Edge - From Information to Knowledge Networks (details)

Prof. Jérôme Härri, EURECOM, France

18:00 - 19:20 (CET)S7: Novel Applications and Network Optimization

Chair: Reza Abdolee (CSU Channel Islands, Camarillo, CA, USA)

18:00 - QLRan: Latency-Quality Tradeoffs and Task offloading in Multi-node Next Generation RANs

Ayman Younis, Brian Qiu and Dario Pompili

18:20 - Backbones for Internet of Battlefield Things

Dimitrios Papakostas, Theodoros Kasidakis, Evangelia Fragkou and Dimitrios Katsaros

18:40 - Enabling Opportunistic Low-cost Smart Cities By Using Tactical Edge Node Placement

Oluwashina Madamori, Esther Max-Onakpoya, Gregory Erhardt and Corey E Baker

19:00 - Traffic-Based Adjustable Discontinuous Reception Mechanism with Bounded Delay

Mohammad Reza Ghavidel Aghdam, Bahram Rahmani, Reza Abdolee

19:20 - 19:30 (CET)Conference Closing & Announcement of the Best Paper Award

19:30 - 20:00 (CET)GatherTown Hangout